When will EGO trimmers allow heavier trimmer line like .105? It works a WHOLE LOT BETTER.

• Idea
  • Updated 5 months ago
  • Under Consideration
Home Depot, Lowes et al all sell heavier duty trimmer line like .105 which works much better in heavier grass and weeds. WHY won't EGO come up with a trimmer head that takes .105?
Photo of John Swartz

John Swartz

• 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 6 months ago

Photo of Lapp3r30

Lapp3r30

• 668 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
That's a great question.  I would like to try some heavier string as well.  I'm not an engineer, but, it seems like there is plenty of power for larger line.
Photo of John Swartz

John Swartz

• 60 Points
Okay everyone I just fixed the the problem with the .105 line and I did it at Home Depot. ...

1. I had been using the yellow colored Heavy Duty and the Rinotuff brands.105 line which are much cheaper and they tore up and chopped the grass and the ground around it.
2. Yesterday I brought Echo Black Diamond .105, which costs a few dollars more and boy WHAT A POSITIVE DIFFERENCE. The front of the package says: Razor Sharp for Fast Cutting, and it is truth in advertising....first and foremost, it loads easily into the autoloading bump head, and second, it slices through the grass like a surgical knife. It is one thousand times better.  It costs about 16.99 for the big package. of 217 feet. Spend the extra money and your problem is resolved......
Photo of bigfootcountry

bigfootcountry

• 6,766 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Are you talking about Power head trimmer or standard 15" ? I have no experience with the power load trimmers.

In both cases they will work with some .105 lines.

Are you looking for longer lasting line or greater cutting speed/power?

With the Battery trimmers runtime is affected by line weight.....so .105 will take a little more juice to run. With the 15" it is more noticeable .