Warranty Weaseling

• Problem
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • In Progress
I have no receipt and my mower is malfunctioning.  (The lights come on and the propulsion works, but the blades will not engage.  No, it's not me.  I've been using the mower successfully for 2 1/2 years.  I know how to start it).  The mower is 2 1/2 years old.  Home Depot only keeps records of receipts for the last 2 years.  I was told by Ego customer service that if I couldn't get a receipt "other options might be available" for them to honor my warranty.  They refused to discuss what these supposed "other options" were with me until after I futilely attempted and failed to get a receipt.  Now, I can't get a human being to answer the phone.  Every time I try to call to verify that, yes, I have indeed officially wasted my time going to the Home Depot to ask them to print a receipt they no longer have in their records, I am immediately transferred to a recording prompting me to leave a message.  I have.  They don't call me back.

Anybody have any suggestions for how to get in contact with an actual human from support?

Are these mysterious "other options" in lieu of receipt real or was that just some support rep desperately trying to get me off the phone with noncommittal vagueness?    
Photo of lesley

lesley

• 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • cheated out of $600

Posted 3 months ago

Photo of szwoopp

szwoopp, Champion

• 104,286 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Official Response
Call first thing in the morning if you can to minimize any wait times with Ego CS..

Ego cs does a great job so I doubt they are giving you the run around.  Perhaps a friendlier attitude will help.  :)

I know their phone/computer system is currently down but they are working to get it back up and running ASAP
(Edited)
Photo of lesley

lesley