My 12 rounds with the EGO 21" SP Mower (Review)

• Praise
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • (Edited)

If you are debating between the self-propelled 21” EGO mower or the on fence about purchasing, this review may be very relevant to your decision.  

I’ve been using the EGO 20” mower for about 3 years now and love it.  It’s so light and maneuverable that I often forget I’m pushing a mower.  So you can imagine my reservations about getting a slightly larger, but heavier mower.  The new 21” mower is a natural upgrade.  Bigger cutting width, more power and self-propelled.

SELF-PROPEL

Let’s first talk about the self-propel minimum walking speed.  Almost all Self-Propelled mowers on the market are fixed speed (Cruise control) just like this EGO, so the experience will be about the same.  I haven’t used a SP (Self-Propelled) mower in ages, so this is a unique experience for me. 

Look at the picture below.  I have a very steep lawn, so even when I cut it from side to side, it slopes enough in both directions that I’m always going uphill or downhill.  

The natural walking speed for a person increases slightly while walking down a hill and slows down gradually as you walk up a hill.  The self-propel function on this mower has a static speed, set by the lever.  So just be aware that the speed will be static and you just need to keep up with it. 

Video of walking up a hill at slowest speed.

https://youtu.be/8K7rLk7hR7s

The best advice is to take a little time as you are walking to find a good balance for the speed so that you do not feel like it is too slow going downhill and too fast going uphill.  After I found a balance, I got a lot more comfortable. 

Next up is the braking feature.  At first I was having a bit of trouble backing up.  The whole trick is to release the lever while moving forward just a little and it will unlock the brakes allow you to easily pull the mower backwards.