I'm disappointed in the repair process.

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Not a Problem
  • (Edited)
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: CS

Bought the mower over the winter and used it three times. While using it it just stopped after hitting a large tree root. No troubleshooting worked. Called EGO support and sat on hold 30 minutes. before leaving a message. When they called back late the next day they told to take it to Home Depot for repair. EGO rep didn't bother to tell me Home Deport would charge me for the diagnostic work. They said they would call me in the next day or so with an update. After eight days I finally called them and they said they were waiting on a part - control panel or something - and it wouldn't even ship to them for another three days. 

This may sound crazy, but I was literally dreaming of getting this mower and I am massively disappointed with the product, the EGO non-service and the Home Depot non-service.
Photo of Michael Keating

Michael Keating

  • 304 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
  • frustrated

Posted 3 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Jennifer VandeWater

Jennifer VandeWater, Community Manager

  • 81,028 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Official Response
Michael, according to Home Depot’s policy, a diagnostic fee is required when the mower is sent for repair, then that fee is refunded if it is determined that the repair is covered by our 5-year warranty. It’s our policy to be very clear about these details when we direct an EGO customer to The Home Depot for service and we’re sorry that you were not made aware of this situation. If you continue to have problems regarding this repair, we invite you to call us so we can see what we can do to help. You can reach us at 1-855-EGO-5656 (1-855-346-5656) 8:30am – 8:00pm EST (Monday – Friday) & 10:00AM - 6:00PM EST (Saturday and Sunday).
(Edited)