I really want to like this mower, but the cut is terrible.

• Problem
  • Updated 6 days ago
  • In Progress
  • (Edited)
I have been mowing my own lawns for 30 years. I do not think I have ever owned a mower that cuts this bad (21” self propelled). It does not mulch well at all. Many of the clippings are full length. I basically have to mow with a 50% overlap and it still leaves single blades of grass sticking up everywhere. I live in Louisiana. My lawn is st Augustine. I mow every Saturday morning. I am on my fifth mow with this mower and I am probably going to try and return it to Home Depot. I get a slightly better cut by lowering the deck but I should not have to do that because I am cutting the grass lower than I want it. I am hoping it is something as simple as I am doing something wrong. But I really don’t know what it could be at this point.
Photo of cbe77

cbe77

• 268 Points 250 badge 2x thumb

Posted 2 weeks ago

Photo of Oregon Mike

Oregon Mike, Champion

• 54,426 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Official Response
A few things to try. Although it's pretty new, try sharpening the blade. I thought my 21" non-sp model cut pretty well right out of the box, but after I sharpened it the first time the cut vastly improved. 
Also, try applying some upward pressure on the handlebars when mowing. Not really trying to lift the back up, but just a little bit to keep the front end of the mower down. The handlebars really encourage us to rest our arms/hands on them but that sort of encourages the front of the mower to rise up just a smidge. 
Try mowing at a slower pace. Not sure how slow you are going so maybe a bit slower will also help.
Photo of cbe77

cbe77

• 258 Points 250 badge 2x thumb