Extended Warranty for Ego Mower through Home Depot

• Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
I bought my mower with the 5ah battery today and LOVE it. I understand the EGO warranty. Is it worth extending the EGO warranty an additional 3 years through Home Depot for $80 ? Thank you
Photo of JoeH576

JoeH576

• 174 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • happy

Posted 3 years ago

Photo of Blue Angel

Blue Angel, Champion

• 179,788 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
I have no experience with the HD warranty, but am generally of the opinion that third party warranties are bad based on what I've read about non-oem "extended" warranties on used cars.

I would read up on all the fine print and see if you can get someone from HD to clarify any grey areas.

Does anyone here have any direct experience with HD warranties?
Photo of Exrace

Exrace

• 8,606 Points 5k badge 2x thumb

I don't but never feel they have any value. Not worth the hassle and then some 3rd party company makes money on your "deposit" as they bank the deposit and bank on you losing your paper work! :)
Better to take that money and invest it. :)

(Edited)
Photo of twiteroo

twiteroo

• 1,874 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
If they are HD warranties I would trust it, if they are 3rd party I would not.

HD has service centers in many areas apparently where they actually service EGO products, and maybe others. (How else we can service them I dont know)
Photo of Dane Earley

Dane Earley

• 622 Points 500 badge 2x thumb