Closed Loop Recycling?

• Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Answered
Does EGO have a closed loop recycling program for their batteries?  If not, does anyone know if there is an effective recycling program in place in the US for lithium ion batteries?  I'm fairly new to jumping on the battery bandwagon, as I've typically used corded equipment, in conjunction with purchasing renewable energy electricity to reduce my environmental impact.  I read that Tesla has a closed loop recycling system, and I'm hoping EGO does too.
Photo of Ruth Cloonan

Ruth Cloonan

• 212 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

Photo of SCDC

SCDC, Champion

• 54,538 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Official Response

Ruth,

Home Depot, Lowes, any battery store will accept batteries for recycling/disposal.  Recycling is rarely cost efficient and also dangerous to ship damaged batteries around the country.  On many items there gets to be a problem of diminishing returns.  While recycling in many cases makes sense, in some it does not.

But, I don't work at EGO and maybe they can shed some more light on this.

Thanks

(Edited)
Photo of SCDC

SCDC, Champion

• 54,538 Points 50k badge 2x thumb

Ruth, I found this post by Stan from over a year ago.

"Craig, If you're interested in recycling the battery for free take it, along with any of your rechargeable batteries that no longer hold a charge, to The Home Depot where you purchased your mower.  The Home Depot has a recycling  program at most, if not all, of their stores.  You can also recycle your burned out CFL light bulbs there too!  There's usually a recycling bin right in the main entrance vestibule."

Photo of Ruth Cloonan

Ruth Cloonan

• 212 Points 100 badge 2x thumb