Chain constantly falls off.

• Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Not a Problem
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: no longer a relevant conversation

Chain constantly falls offI have an EGO trimmer with 2.5 amp battery, which I love. BUT...the EGO 5amp chain saw I purchased has given me nothing but trouble. The chain constantly falls off the bar, slowly loosening at first, then falling. This occurs despite constant tightening of the screw. This has happened with 2 EGO 16" chain saws...and lest you think I am a novice, I have had a 16" Craftsman for a dozen years, a Poulon chain saw, and numerous other power tools, which I have successfully used and personally serviced. With this same problem happening to two EGO chain saws back to back, I can only surmise it is a problem with manufacturing. Lastly, I am frankly surprised at all the great reviews of this chain saw...unless EGO deliberately eliminates bad reviews.
Photo of Barry Goldberg

Barry Goldberg

• 340 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
  • frustrated

Posted 3 years ago

Photo of SCDC

SCDC, Champion

• 54,538 Points 50k badge 2x thumb

No, they don't delete bad reviews.  I have the original 14" and have dealt with the chain coming off, but honestly, no worse than the last gas powered one I had. 

I believe it has to do with the slower rotational speed which contributes to the picky nature of the chain.  For some reason it's gotten better as I've worn it out.

Photo of Barry Goldberg

Barry Goldberg