Awesome support and CS.

  • 3
  • Praise
  • Updated 4 years ago
Just wanted to praise EGO POWER + for an outstanding job they are doing standing behind their products and supporting them.

After one blessed year of mowing my lawn with EGO mower, trimming with EGO trimmer, and blowing with EGO blower I faced which turned out to be a common issue with handle clamps (clips?) for EGO mower - one of the clips would pop out all of a sudden thus shutting down the mower.

I browsed these forums, found similar problem reported, read an advice to call CS to get this clip replaced. I called, got a rep who within one minute shipped new clips to me and told me they should arrive within 2 business days.

Now that's what I call warranty and customer support. Keep it up, guys. Because of how great your products are and support you provide I already have turned two my friends into going full-electrical :D
Photo of Oleg

Oleg

  • 160 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 3
Photo of Julio Villanueva

Julio Villanueva

  • 1,860 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
Thanks. After reading your experience, I'm going to be more gentle with those clips
Photo of Oleg Obukhov

Oleg Obukhov

  • 1,288 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
You actually might want to get new clips. They have re-engineered them. As far as I understood all mowers as of November, 2015 are being shipped with the new improved clips. I bought my mower in April, 2015. So if you bought your mower after of 10/2015 - you're good. If before - call CS and ask them to have re-engineered clips shipped.
Photo of icrooks

icrooks

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Don't thank them until you actually receive the part. My rapid charger died so I called CS and was told they'd send a replacement out and I should get it in a few days. I didn't, so I called back and they said there was a screw-up in the warehouse so they were going to send me one right away with 2nd day shipping. A week later, I called CS because I still hadn't received it and they said there was a screw-up in the warehouse and they'd send me one right away with 2nd day shipping AND give me a replacement blade for my troubles. It took about four days to finally receive the charger (and blade). 

I really want to love this company and its products but they make it hard. I'm not sure if it's because they're relatively new and maybe grew too quickly or if they're just poorly managed.
Photo of Jennifer VandeWater

Jennifer VandeWater, Community Manager

  • 81,048 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
icrooks, We're pretty sure your issue was a one-time incident and not indicative of our normal operation procedure. We do apologize for the error.  While it's no excuse, we are human and occasionally make mistakes.  Our customer service team is trying really hard to get better though and we'll take your comments to the team.
Photo of David Cline

David Cline

  • 37,182 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
I think the past 3-4 months has been unprecedented and somewhat unexpectedly explosive growth for Ego. They have always had stellar customer service and I'm sure they will again once they catch up from the massive demand this spring brought.
Photo of icrooks

icrooks

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Jennifer - While I appreciate the fact that you're human and do make mistakes, I don't appreciate being labeled a "one time incident" when it actually was a two-time incident. I also sincerely doubt that I'm the only customer who's replacement part wasn't shipped as promised. I don't say this to be combative or to be some kind of jerk, I say this because I don't feel EGO performed what I would call great customer service. Sending a replacement part the first time is expected. Having to call not once, but twice, to get the part is what I call poor customer service. The way you convert the former to the latter is you own up to your mistakes the first time and you go above-and-beyond to ensure that the customer gets his/her part ASAP the second time. As in ensuring that the parts leave the warehouse that day and are overnighted to the customer.

You have to remember that we, the customers, took a gamble by buying into a relatively new and unproven brand at a premium price. We purchased multiple tools. We raved about their performance. It's all good until something breaks. The best mower in the world is a useless piece of plastic if you can't use it. Luckily, I had a slow charger from the trimmer I bought so it wasn't totally useless but the fact that I had to wait weeks for a replacement part is unacceptable. And judging by the complaints I see on this forum, there are others who in worse situations than I.

So how about owning it? How about telling us that you screwed up, that you're trying to fix things, and you're sincerely sorry things like this happen instead of minimizing the incident as a one-of and basically saying you can't do any better because you're only human? 
Photo of Oleg Obukhov

Oleg Obukhov

  • 1,288 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
I have actually received it today. I'm sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience. I hope EGO team will take your feedback seriously and do their best to improve their procedures. As someone who started his career as CS rep I understand that things like that happen. As a customer though I would be still upset just like you.

PS. Ups, looks like I have 2 accounts here :D
(Edited)
Photo of Jennifer VandeWater

Jennifer VandeWater, Community Manager

  • 81,048 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
icrooks, You're right.  We are sorry you had such a bad experience and we're putting more infrastructure and training in place to hopefully avoid issues like yours in the future.  If you need anything else from us, please let us know.  We apologize for the issues you encountered and you have every right to be frustrated.